University of Pittsburgh

Center for Commercial Applications of Healthcare Data
Transforming Innovations Into Healthcare Solutions

The Center for Commercial Applications of Healthcare Data accelerates the translation of health data-focused technologies into products and services that save lives, improve health and reduce health care spending. We work with Pitt’s renowned researchers and industry partners to transform breakthrough university innovations into critically needed healthcare solutions.

The CCA is housed in the Department of Biomedical Informatics (DBMI), a leader in improving research and clinical care at the intersection medicine, biotechnology and information technology.

Our Projects
spd

SPDx- Improving accuracy and efficiency of cancer diagnosis through solid tumor spatial analysis

An elderly man wearing a fall risk bracelet around his wrist using a walker

Fall Sentinel- multi-drug interaction analysis for fall risk reduction at skilled nursing facilities

bed

PUMP- Hospital acquired pressure ulcer prevention monitoring platform

3D render of DNA strands on abstract background

TDI- More accurate cancer diagnostics from identifying tumor driver genetic mutations

medivate

MEDIvate- mHealth solution to improve medication outcomes through consumer engagement during transitions of care

baby-image4

AuguryDX- Neonatal circulating cell-free DNA diagnostics for silent disease progression

Our Team

The CCA is led by Director’s Michael Becich and Don Taylor, who have built a team of experienced scientists, engineers, clinicians and entrepreneurs to engage with researchers to nurture commercial solutions that solve critical health problems

MichaelBecich

Michael J Becich, MD, PhD

Associate Vice-Chancellor for Informatics in the Health Sciences
Chairman and Professor, Department of Biomedical Informatics
Co-Director, Center for Commercial Applications of Healthcare Data
University of Pittsburgh
LinkedIn
becich@pitt.edu

412-606-6453

DonTaylor

Donald P. Taylor, PhD, MBA

Assistant Vice-Chancellor for Commercial Translation in the Health Sciences
Co-Director, Center for Commercial Applications of Healthcare Data
Co-Director, Clinical and Translational Science Institute, Innovation Core

University of Pittsburgh
LinkedIn
dtaylor@scivelo.pitt.edu

412-956-1000

Andrew_Brown

Andrew Brown, PhD

Program Manager
LinkedIn
abrown@scivelo.pitt.edu

814-490-8817

MaxDizard

Max Dizard

Innovation Associate
LinkedIn
mdizard@scivelo.pitt.edu

646-844-4561

KathrinGassei

Kathrin Gassei, PhD

Innovation Associate
LinkedIn
kgassei@scivelo.pitt.edu

412-680-8755

member2

Matthew Leming, PhD

Innovation Associate
LinkedIn
mleming@scivelo.pitt.edu

316.371.6923

member1

Peter Kant

DBMI Project Manager
LinkedIn
pkant@scivelo.pitt.edu

412.624.9098

js

Joe Shawky

Innovation Project Manager
LinkedIn
jshawky@scivelo.pitt.edu

518.364.2858

DanielleMinteer

Danielle Minteer, PhD

Innovation Associate

LinkedIn
dminteer@scivelo.pitt.edu

724-971-8222

MattLefkowitz

Matt Lefkowitz

Innovation Project Manager

LinkedIn
mlefkowitz@scivelo.pitt.edu

908-528-1646

MeganBreski

Megan Breski

Innovation Project Manager
LinkedIn
mbreski@scivelo.pitt.edu

ChandlerKincade

Chandler Kincade

Innovation Project Manager

LinkedIn
dminteer@scivelo.pitt.edu

724-971-8222

Application

Applications are accepted on a rolling basis. Please complete the project snapshot to start the conversation.

Contact Us